Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University Graduate School

Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP)


The WRGP allows master’s, graduate certificate, and Ph.D. nonresident students from a Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) member state, territory, or freely associated state to enroll in graduate programs offered by public institutions in the west outside their home state or territory and pay reduced tuition. WICHE states and territories are listed below.

Qualified Programs at Washington State University


WSU Spokane programs

Qualifying WICHE Member States, Territories, and Freely Associated States

Residents from any of these member states, territories, and freely associated states are eligible for WICHE reduced tuition:


Alaska Arizona California Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands
Federated States of Micronesia Guam Hawaii Idaho
Nevada New Mexico North Dakota Oregon
Republic of the Marshall Islands Republic of Palau South Dakota Utah
Washington Wyoming

How to Apply

Apply for admission and identify yourself as a WICHE WRGP applicant to be considered for the discounted tuition rate. Programs give a limited number of reduced tuition seats each year, so apply early!

Apply Now


Proof of Residency Documentation

  1. Permanent address from out-of-state residence stated on your WSU application
  2. Driver’s license from resident state


We’re here to help!

Jenny Saligumba-Graham, Director of Graduate Student Services