Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University Graduate School

Evening of Excellence

Honoring the Graduate School’s Best and Brightest Scholars

The Graduate School hosted the fourth annual Evening of Excellence on April 19, 2018 at the Courtyard Marriott to honor 35 new graduate student scholarship recipients.  In addition to the student scholarships, the Graduate School  also awarded the third Graduate School Mentor Academy Award for Excellence.

Promising students were nominated for scholarships by college deans based on their merit and qualifications for each scholarship. Students were nominated from the colleges of Arts and Sciences; Agriculture, Human and Natural Resource Sciences; Education; Veterinary Medicine; Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture; and the Graduate School.

Dissertation Year Fellowship

Elizabeth Drake – Criminal Justice and Criminology
Amir Gilmore – Teaching and Learning
Darcy Hauslik – Sociology

Arnold and Julia Greenwell Memorial Scholarship for Social Sciences and Humanities

Elizabeth Drake – Criminal Justice and Criminology
Steven Hobaica – Clinical Psychology
Veronica Sandoval – American Studies






Richard R. and Constance M. Albrecht Scholarship

Qusay Bkour – Chemical and Bioengineering
Eric Dexter – School of the Environment
Thu Ly  – Chemical and Bioengineering
Kelsey Morrison – Chemistry
Jonathan Preszler – Clinical Psychology
Savannah Sanchez – School of Molecular Biosciences

Russ and Anne Fuller Fellowship for Interdisciplinary Research/Scholarship

Jacob Day – Chemistry
Ramin Fallahzadeh – Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
Travis Seaborn – School of Biological Sciences

Second Year Russ and Anne Fuller Fellowship for Interdisciplinary Research/Scholarship

Laura Ahlers – Molecular Biosciences
Roxanne Moore – Teaching and Learning
Ashley Railey – Individual Interdisciplinary
Seyed Ali Rokni Dezfooli – Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
Yang Song – Civil and Environmental Engineering

Charles Allen Master’s Thesis Award

Rebecca Lindsey – Clinical  Psychology

Karen P. Depauw Leadership Award

Tiffany Fulkerson – Anthropology
Gregory Urquhart – Educational Leadership, Sports Studies, and Educational/Counseling Psychology

Clarence A. “Bud” Ryan Institute of Biological Chemistry Award

Jesse Bengtsson
Sharol Schmidt

GPSA Excellence Awards

Candace Chapelle – Outstanding Graduate Assistant
Rebecca Weed – Outstanding Graduate Assistant
Alinia Parastoo – Outstanding Teaching Assistant
Megan Stotts – Outstanding Teaching Assistant
Adekunle Adesanya – Outstanding Research Assistant
Megar Beheshti – Outstanding Research Assistant
Ralph Chikany – Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor
Amber Morczek – Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor


Graduate School Mentor Academy Award for Excellence

Dr. Martha Cottam, Department of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs

NSF Graduate Research Fellows

College of Veterinary Medicine

Jessie Arneson
Nicole Clark
Darin Weed

Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture

Gregory Collinge
Jessamyn Dahmen
Jake Gray
Cameron Hohimer
Jenny Voss