2026-2027 GSPP Change Log

This page lists changes to the Graduate School Policies and Procedures since the 2025-2026 manual. Formatting, numbering and minor wording changes are not listed. The current manual is the policy; this page is only a guide. Other updates are still being reviewed and will be added.

Policy changes approved by the Faculty Senate

These entries are grouped by effective term. All took effect in Fall 2026. A conforming change updates another mention of the same rule to match what the Faculty Senate approved.

Doctoral degrees: minimum total credits reduced from 72 to 60, and Ed.D. graded minimum from 42 to 15

Approved by Faculty Senate: March 12, 2026 (Item 604 minutes, proposal)
Effective: Fall 2026
Changes entered by: Greg Crouch, Fall 2026
Change ID: GSPP-2026-001

The minimum total for the doctoral Program of Study is now 60 hours. The Ed.D. graded-course minimum now matches the Ph.D. at 15 hours. Required research credits did not change.

SectionWasNowBasis
8.3.1 University RequirementsAt least 72 hoursAt least 60 hoursApproved in Item 604
8.3.2 Program of Study for Ph.D. and Ed.D
(was 8.3.1.1, 8.3.1.2)
72 hours minimum total credits60 hours minimum total creditsApproved in Item 604
8.3.2 Program of Study for Ph.D. and Ed.D
(was 8.3.1.2)
Ed.D.: 42 hours minimum graded (A-F) graduate-levelEd.D.: 15 hours minimum graded (A-F) graduate-level; the two degrees now share one sectionApproved in Item 604

4+1 Accelerated Master's Programs: shared credits increased from 6 to 9

Approved by Faculty Senate: October 22, 2026 (Item 646 minutes, proposal)
Effective: Fall 2026
Conforming changes reviewed by: Greg Crouch, Graduate School
Changes entered by: Greg Crouch, Fall 2026
Change ID: GSPP-2026-002

Students in approved 4+1 programs may now share up to 9 eligible credits between the bachelor's and master's degrees, up from 6.

SectionWasNowBasis
3.1.6 4+1 Accelerated Master's Programs
(was 3.1.5)
Up to six graduate-level creditsUp to 9 graduate-level creditsConforming change
4.6.2 4+1 Accelerated Master's Program
(was 4.5.2)
Up to six credits may be sharedUp to 9 credits may be sharedApproved in Item 646
6.7.5 Students in 4+1 Programs
(was 6.7.2.4)
Up to six credits applied to the Program of StudyUp to 9 credits applied to the Program of StudyApproved in Item 646

300- and 400-level credits: one limit of 9 for all graduate degrees

Approved by Faculty Senate: October 22, 2026 (Item 646 minutes, proposal)
Effective: Fall 2026
Conforming changes reviewed by: Greg Crouch, Graduate School
Changes entered by: Greg Crouch, Fall 2026
Change ID: GSPP-2026-003

Limits of 6 credits that applied to thesis master's degrees now match the existing limit of 9 for non-thesis master's and doctoral degrees. The 30-credit minimum and the graded and research credit requirements did not change. Limits on professional-level credit in 6.7.2 still distinguish 6 and 9.

SectionWasNowBasis
4.3.1 Not Advanced Degree Candidate (NADC)6 hours (thesis master's) or 9 hours (non-thesis, doctoral)9 semester hoursConforming change
4.6.1 Undergraduate Senior Students
(was 4.5.1)
6 hours (thesis master's) or 9 hours (non-thesis, doctoral)9 semester hours toward any graduate degreeApproved in Item 646
4.8.1 UNDG and NADC Students Pursuing Formal Admission to Graduate School
(was 4.10.1)
6 hours (thesis master's) or 9 hours (non-thesis, doctoral)9 semester hoursConforming change
6.7.2 Courses Taken at WSU
(was 6.7.2.1)
6 undergraduate-level credits (thesis master's) or 9 (non-thesis, doctoral)9 undergraduate-level credits for a master's or doctoral degreeConforming change
6.7.3 Courses Taken in Undergraduate Post-baccalaureate or Teacher Certification Programs
(was 6.7.2.2)
Reserve 6 hours (thesis master's) or 9 hours (non-thesis, doctoral)Reserve 9 semester hours for a graduate degreeConforming change
6.7.4 Courses Taken as Excess Undergraduate Credit at WSU
(was 6.7.2.3)
Reserve 6 hours (thesis master's) or 9 hours (non-thesis, doctoral)Reserve 9 semester hours for a graduate degreeApproved in Item 646
6.7.9 Cooperative Courses
(was 6.7.2.8)
Only 6 credits (thesis master's) or 9 credits (non-thesis, doctoral)Up to 9 creditsConforming change
7.3.1 University RequirementsThesis master's: up to 6 credits (300-400 level)Up to 9 credits (300-400 level)Approved in Item 646

Interdisciplinary Studies programs: new M.S. and renamed Ph.D.

Approved by Faculty Senate: February 26, 2026 (Item 600 minutes, proposal)
Effective: Fall 2026
M.S. approved by Faculty Senate: January 30, 2025 (Item 466, 2024-2025 agendas); approved by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities July 23, 2025
Changes entered by: Greg Crouch, Fall 2026
Change ID: GSPP-2026-004

The Ph.D. in Individual Interdisciplinary was renamed the Ph.D. in Interdisciplinary Studies, with its plans. The manual now also describes the M.S. in Interdisciplinary Studies.

SectionWasNowBasis
3.1.4 Interdisciplinary Studies Degree Programs
(was 3.1.2)
Individual Interdisciplinary Doctoral Program (Ph.D.)Interdisciplinary Studies programs (Ph.D. or M.S.)Approved in Item 600

Changes required by contract or training

Graduate assistantships: updates from the contract and required training

Basis: Contract clarification or required training
Approved by: Mayra Garcia Rodriguez, AFO
Posted: Fall 2026
Changes entered by: Greg Crouch, Fall 2026
Change ID: GSPP-2026-R01

These updates reflect contract clarifications or required training for graduate assistants.

SectionWasNow
9.4 Tuition WaiversInternational students receive a nonresident waiver throughout their academic careerThroughout their academic career when on an assistantship
9.5 Required TrainingRenew Responsible Conduct of Research training after five yearsRenew after four years
9.6 AttestationsComplete the Sexual Misconduct Statement for new hiresComplete it prior to being offered an assistantship
9.7 Workload and ResponsibilitiesNo equivalent statementUnion steward or representative duties do not count toward workload, except disciplinary, grievance or bargaining meetings
9.7.1 Appointment Periods for Assistantships:Summer session: minimum six-week termSummer session: minimum four-week term
9.9.3 Paid Short-term Pregnancy/Parental LeaveNo equivalent statementFull-time enrollment required, and an approved Academic Plan must be attached

Clarifications of existing policy

Clarifications do not change policy, so they did not need Faculty Senate action.

Dismissal, reinstatement and appeals: written policy aligned with long-standing practice

Basis: Clarification, no policy change
Reviewed by: Tammy Barry, Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Education, August 2026
Posted: Fall 2026
Changes entered by: Greg Crouch, Fall 2026
Change ID: GSPP-2026-C01

This clarification does not change policy. It makes clear in the manual that academic units can only recommend dismissal and that students always have the right to appeal, and it sets out the process in one place.

SectionEarlier wordingCurrent wording
6.3.4 Dismissal from the Graduate School
(was 6.3.3)
The statement that only the dean of the Graduate School and vice provost or the university Conduct Board may dismiss a student appeared at the end of a listThat statement now opens the dismissal section
6.3.4.1 Graduate School-initiated dismissal (academic deficiency or examination failure)
(was 6.3.3)
Dismissal conditions listed with other reasons for dismissalGraduate School-initiated dismissal has its own section
6.3.4.2 Timing and Notification for Dismissal Based on Cumulative GPA Deficiency, Two Unsatisfactory Research Grades, or BothNot described in one placeRecord review, contact with the program, written notice, and transcript treatment are described
6.3.4.3 Graduate program dismissal recommendation to the Graduate School (reasons other than academic deficiency or examination failure listed above)
(was 6.3.3)
"Other reasons for dismissal might include"A graduate program may recommend dismissal; the program's notice and the student's appeal right are described
6.3.5 Reinstatement for Cumulative GPA Below 3.0 or Two or More U Grades)
(was 6.3.4)
Described with dismissalReinstatement has its own section
12.7.10 Graduate Student Formal Academic Grievance Procedures (Appeal of Dismissals)
(was 12.7.6.2)
"An email is insufficient"; a signed appeal was requiredWritten request from the official WSU email account; a typed name is an acceptable signature
12.7.11 Course Grade-related Grievances (Appeal of Course Grades)No separate sectionCourse grade appeals follow Academic Regulations 104 and 105
12.7.12 Appeal of the Academic Grievance Process to the Provost
(was 12.7.6.3)
Included in the grievance sectionHas its own section
12.7.13 Professional Student Grievance and Appeal Procedures
(was 12.7.6.4)
Progression "will be suspended"; signed appeal requiredProgression "may be suspended"; appeal follows 12.7.10

Electronic signatures: accepted formats stated more clearly

Basis: Clarification, no policy change
Reviewed by: Tammy Barry, Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Education
Posted: Fall 2026
Changes entered by: Greg Crouch, Fall 2026
Change ID: GSPP-2026-C02

This clarification does not change policy. Signatures were already handled this way; the earlier wording did not state it clearly.

SectionEarlier wordingCurrent wording
1.5.6 Electronic Signatures on Graduate School FormsA name typed on the signature line without further authentication was described as unacceptableA name typed on the signature line directly from academic units is acceptable
1.5.6 Electronic Signatures on Graduate School FormsScanned signatures were described as needing a confirming email recordThat description removed; Smartsheet routing forms are listed as acceptable

Readmission: three or more semesters stated clearly

Basis: Clarification, no policy change
Reviewed by: Tammy Barry, Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Education
Posted: Fall 2026
Changes entered by: Greg Crouch, Fall 2026
Change ID: GSPP-2026-C03

This clarification does not change policy. Readmission already worked this way; the earlier wording did not state it clearly.

SectionEarlier wordingCurrent wording
5.2.4 Readmission for a Degree-Seeking Student
(was 5.1.4)
Reapply after two or more consecutive semesters absentReapply after three or more consecutive semesters absent
5.1.1 Master's Degree Students
(was 5.1.1.1)
Absent for up to two consecutive semestersAbsent for one or two consecutive semesters

Non-degree students: comparison table added

Basis: Clarification, no policy change
Reviewed by: Greg Crouch, Graduate School
Posted: Fall 2026
Changes entered by: Greg Crouch, Fall 2026
Change ID: GSPP-2026-C04

A new table summarizes the existing non-degree classifications.

SectionEarlier wordingCurrent wording
2.2 Non-degree Seeking Graduate StudentsNo comparison tableTable compares entry, time limits, course restrictions and usable credits